Review of MYSTIC CITY--Plus the Book Trailer

Thanks for Full Circle Books, I got an advanced reader's copy for Theo Lawrence's debut novel, MYSTIC CITY. I started the book two days ago and finished it while on the elliptical tonight.

Wow. What a read. My own main character struggles from memory loss, as Lawrence's does, which immediately brought it close to my heart. A second sign that this is an excellent first novel is the fact that I read it in two days. Two tiny days! While I'm working three jobs, writing my own book, etc. on the side. Long story short, I really couldn't put it down.

Here's the skinny on the plot (thanks Goodreads):

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.


Sounds good, doesn't it? And it is. Lawrence writes a fast-paced love story, full of twists and turns. Though the love story is somewhat predictable, and the bad guys are obvious, the main character is, herself, so engaging, that the books' few flaws really don't matter. 

Plus, the cover is awesome! It looks like a hologram. So buy the print copy of the book. The effect's worth it, and it'll look cool on your bookshelf. 

MYSTIC CITY comes out on October 9th of this year, so be sure to pre-order a copy or head to your favorite bookstore early. I'm pretty sure this book will sell out FAST.


Also, enjoy this book trailer from Random Books!


Comments

Popular Posts